Let’s talk about sex…

I just got back from seeing Because I said so with Diane Keaton and Mandy Moore. I figured it’s your typical chick flick, good answer to fill in “lets do something” of a spontaneous girls night out. I’m still working through my Sundance film journal, and heaven’s knows I’ve seen enough heavy films lately and could balance with some lighthearted fun.

The story is a feel good mother daughter journey that I feel I’ve been on before. Start with a mother projecting insecurity and clumsy relationship skills on her daughter(s), then mix in comedy, conflict and climax and wa-la: they both learn, grow and find love.

Ironically, I walked out disturbed from this light-hearted comedy.

I saw a lot of sex on screen at Sundance, and it didn’t bother me too much. I knew what i was walking into, and in many movies like Save Me and Black Snake Moan, its use on screen was taken seriously and helped further the messages of these films (sin, redemption, unconditional love). Yet as Moore and Keaton explore their relationship skills in this flick, sex was thrown around like having dinner or making chocolate soufflés

Now, please don’t get me wrong – sex is great and I’m not saying it should be removed from the filmmaker’s tool box. But on the other hand, I don’t think it’s such a light hearted matter to be assumed. Just a thought that struck me…

Leave a Reply

