Reflection > Tues week 4

Today’s class fired me up a bit.

Bolger mentioned that churches tend to lack the cultural tools to engage those outside their own culture, and are still expecting people to show up on Sunday. They aren’t – church culture is foreign to them.

I think by “tools,” he meant applying the “practices” and “powers” definitions to create a culture map and pinpoint places of need in the community. This would give the church insight into their neighborhood to reach out in an incarnational and native way.

The more I hear this stuff and engage with it, it’s right where I want to be. This was how I came to Christ – someone engaging and challenging me within my high school culture. It just makes sense, not only for non-western cultures, but our own with many pockets of subcultures.

Leave a Reply

