something new

Any Joy?
In reaction to my heavy involvement with reading and writing these days, I’m trying something new on my blog – drawings/journal pages. I don’t know what this will turn into, but I’ll give it a go.

This is partly coming from a brief identity crisis the other day as my sense of self, a recovering missionary turned seminary student, is struggling to hold on the designer/artist that’s starting to clamor a bit to get out. I’m surrounded by teachers, youth directors and future pastors who are all wonderful and say brilliant things, but aren’t like me.

After class on Tuesday, I hopped in my car and broke out of my Pasadena bubble (lovely as it is) and made the trek to Santa Monica to sit on the beach with a sketch book, charcoal, and no pressure to create anything. There is something so soothing about waves hitting the shore, and sand between my toes, wind in my hair and charcoal … well … all over my hands.

This is a sketch from last night looking at a stack of books on my desk, asking myself if there’s any joy in this road I’m on … turns out there’s plenty.

One Response to “something new”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Hey! My uncle lives just minutes from Santa Monica Pier. I love visiting that area…it has been awhile though.

    You did a great job on the design for the direct mail for Team France šŸ™‚ We had a conference call this morning and were discussing our excitement to get to Paris, and at the same time the peace that God is taking care of the timing.

    Love, Vanessa

Leave a Reply

